Grilling Thread

139,408 Views | 1158 Replies | Last: 9 days ago by Seawolf2010
Pakbackr
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Back at the beginning of the COVID shut down, I bought the cheapest sous vide that Anova makes, have used it multiple times to cook filets and ribeyes. BEST steaks I have ever had, hands down!
ncsupack1
Civilized
Steve Videtich said:

Bell Tower Grey said:

This is the chicken (2 whole, split) right before I took it off the charcoal. Was cooked in the Weber with the vortex inverted; temp held at a steady 265. Was brined for about 3 hours. Put on coals at 5 pm, took them off about 7:45. Sauced every 10 min for last 30 or so.

I've been cooking chicken for about 46 years and thought I cooked good bird.....however, I picked up a cooking tip last week from a great friend that's cooked chicken for as long as I have been. My game just got upped. First time I've eaten an entire half chicken since I was at Keaton's last - which was at least 2 years ago.

Was paired with baked sweet potatoes, sliced cukes in vinegar, salt & pepper, and texas toast.

Beautiful looking birds! Been a minute since I did whole chickens. Need to get back on that!

Whole chickens is one of my favorites.

Give it a good rub of avo or olive oil with lots of salt and pepper and roast it really hot - 400 or even a little higher. I pull my pizza pan deflector 10-15 minutes before they're done and throw open the vents even more to spike the temp and really crisp the skin. Skin comes out perfectly golden brown and crispy and the meat is tender and juicy.

Sides of rice, black beans, and corn and fresh tomatoes from the garden if you got 'em. Awesome easy summer meal.

My kids call it "Mami Nora's style," after this really great Peruvian chicken joint in Raleigh (if you haven't been on a trip back to Raleigh, you should try it. It ain't fancy but it is delicious!)
Civilized
packgrad said:

Pacfanweb said:

The idea sounds awesome.