Coronavirus

2,007,141 Views | 19855 Replies | Last: 1 day ago by Werewolf
Mormad
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Lots of things are approved by the FDA for use, and yet still require monitoring and regulation. The government regulating the use of approved medical care is nothing new.

The rapid test may be less accurate. In fact, Spain found it to be about 30 percent accurate. Just like the flu rapid antigen test, it may or may not be reliable. I don't think any doctor or politician is ready to count on that yet. Maybe one day, we'll see. Several antibody tests are becoming available. We'll see how they're used.

The drug is very old, but it doesn't mean all docs understand it because most don't prescribe it regularly. This one has some potential harmful SEs, especially along with a zpak which also can prolong QT intervals. Also, just because the FDA allowed compassionate use doesn't mean docs will play nicely. See the opioid crisis. As a doctor I hate to say it, but they still have to regulate my peers until there's a huge supply of drug to manage those who actually NEED it. Just the way it is. The regulations should only hold as long as it takes to produce more drug.

I don't believe the government knows the next steps. Maybe you understand the disease and all its implications better than those about whom you speak. Most of the infectious disease docs and pulmonologists I discuss this with have no real feeling for what's coming, they just know it's coming and hope for the best and prepare for the worst. Because when they don't people die. If I knew what the next steps should be (other than hoard PPE, ventilators, and drugs) based on what I'm seeing, hearing, and reading everyday I'd tell you guys. I suspect our leaders are feeling the same way.