NC State gymnastics 2018-19 - #8 seed in Athens Regional

16,604 Views | 127 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by Wolfer79
Wolfer79
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Wolfer79
Wolfer79
Wolfer79
Wolfer79
Wolfer79
Wolfer79
Wolfer79
Wolfer79
Wolfer79
Wolfer79
Looks like NC State finished 3rd behind New Hampshire and George Washington
Wolfer79
Wolfer79 said:

Looks like NC State finished 3rd behind New Hampshire and George Washington

dj5377
Ok, admittedly this is the first time that I have looked at the Gymnastics NCAA set up this year, and it is different than what they have had since I've been paying attention for the last 20+ years. There are still 36 teams, but only 4 regional sites. That's 9 per site.

On top of that, the entire set up is different. Let's see if I'm interpreting this correctly. Even though they will only seed the top 4 teams in each region, pretend that they seed all 9 teams. The 8 and 9 seeds will match up in a "play-in" game for lack of a better term. The winner of that two team meet on Thursday April 4th, will advance to the next round. An 8 team meet on Friday, April 5th. That meet will advance the top 4 teams to a regional final on April 6th. That final will produce a top 2 that will advance to nationals.

So nationals will only have 8 teams, and they will do the semifinals, 8 teams to get down to 4, and then the finals with 4 teams. (in years past, it was 12 to get down to 6, and 6 teams were in the finals)

So what does that mean for NC State. Well, in a long term look, it has become infinitely harder to advance to nationals. Instead of 12 teams, there are only 8. Secondly, a Pack team that's not top 16, would have to pull an upset in the regional semifinals, just to get to the regional finals, and then do it again in the regional finals. In my opinion this narrows the field of college gymnastics even more so to the haves, instead of the have nots.