The hoodoo they have inflicted upon North Carolina's Big Four universities

569 Views | 1 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by GuerrillaPack
PackFansXL
How long do you want to ignore this user?
The Maddening Degradation of the Teaching of English

Quote:

The trouble erupted first at NC State in 1984, where a new departmental chairman announced a new direction Marxist deconstructionism. Trendy, hip. Old ideas about teaching English were to be dumped in favor of "progressive" ones.

The contagion spread to Duke with the arrival of Stanley Fish. Miller writes, "Backed by other hotshot recruits, Dr. Fish set about to make the department over in his own imagesmug, despotic, and punitive when colleagues challenged his claim that 'literature has no intrinsic merit.'" Perhaps that has something to do with the steady decline in English majors over the years.

UNC and Wake Forest have similarly fallen to the deconstructivist hordes.
Fortunately for me, I graduated before the new direction arrived at State. Who was this departmental chairman?
GuerrillaPack
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Full article:

https://www.jamesgmartin.center/2022/05/diary-of-a-mad-emerita/

Quote:

During the years I taught college English, I had a ringside seat watching a new breed of Jacobins seize control of a university English department, then extend their reach throughout the humanities. Posing as the champions of "social justice," they have built an empire cultivating "victims"and silencing colleagues who oppose the new mission of the radical left. For four decades they have ruled universities nationwide, but my focus here is upon the hoodoo they have inflicted upon North Carolina's Big Four universities.