Living in Raleigh area again

1,590 Views | 16 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by IseWolf22
Packamylase
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Our Family is considering a move back to the Triangle. I haven't lived in Raleigh - Durham since 2007, but I was in Fayetteville from 2012-2014, so I was around. I'm a Family Physician and have interviewed with both UNC and Duke.

I would really appreciate input from those that live in Raleigh...

How has it changed in the last 10 years? Good/Bad?
How has the influx of people affected traffic and getting around?
What's it like living in Cary /Apex these days?
When is the South 540 Loop supposed to be completed?
Would you recommend Raleigh for us to raise our young family? Why /Why not?

If you have any other inquiries, I'll try to clarify.

Thanks so much for sharing your opinions and being open with me here.
PackBacker07
Traffic is awful, and Cary/Apex are expensive as hell (in real estate terms). Not sure anyone can argue either point. That being said, it's an amazing place to raise a family. Great schools in Wake County and very friendly and accommodating people on the whole.
Y'all means ALL.
FlossyDFlynt
Ill add some perspective, although I cant answer most of your questions.

I moved away in the beginning of 2012 and moved back the summer of 2015. In the 3.5 years I was away, it changed dramatically and continues to change today. The area around NCSU is completely different. Some changes Ive liked, others I havent, but I have loved living here again.

Unfortunately, I cant speak for Cary/Apex as I hardly go down that way and I cant really speak on traffic either as I dont commute for work. Even though I am currently single, I have every intention of raising a family here if its in the cards.

I will say I could see myself leaving Raleigh at some point, but if I do, Ill be heading towards the coast. I dont see myself leaving NC again, I like it too much here.
ZAXPACK15
How has it changed in the last 10 years? Good/Bad?